Major League Soccer Explained

Major League Soccer (MLS) is the top-tier soccer league in the United States and Canada, founded in 1996 as a successful bid to host the 1994 FIFA World Cup and replace the North American Soccer League. 

MLS is a Single Entity

The MLS is a single entity governed by its Limited Liability Agreement, where the league owns all clubs and player contracts. In addition, the league investors can handle the league’s business affairs while simultaneously agreeing to operate and hold MLS clubs independently.

MLS has Fixed Membership

Major League Soccer has a fixed membership and does not use the promotion and relegation system. Making it one of the world’s first-division soccer leagues in which the bottom-place team doesn’t drop to a lower division.

MLS 2023 Season

The MLS currently has 28 teams and is expected to kick start the 2023 season with 29 teams, 26 in the U.S. and 3 in Canada. The league separated teams by geographical location and split them into Eastern and Western Conferences.


Major League Soccer regular season usually runs between late February to mid-October. Following the conclusion of the regular season, the league hosts a postseason MLS Cup Playoffs in late October and November and ends with a championship game. 

Major League Soccer Teams 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Spread knowledge about the beautiful game.

Important Details Ahead

This website uses cookies and third-party services to create the best possible experience for our users.
By entering and using the website you agree to all terms of service and privacy policy of